Pão de Mel (Remember me?)

30 May

Damn, I suck at blogging. Sorry guys.

But look! I’m back! And I’m gonna share a really delish vegan baked good with you.

Last weekend was Carnaval in San Francisco! And as I’ve done in the past, I hosted a brunch post-parade viewing. I wanted to cook stuff that I could prep the night before and do minimal work on the next morning so I could spend a lot of time watching the parade and not a lot of time in the kitchen. My menu was a vegan brunch casserole with soyrizo, potatoes, black beans, chiles and “cheezy sauce,” but I made it up and forgot to write down amounts so NO RECIPE FOR YOU. But I also made some kick ass green salsa (which I *will* share with you in the future), fruit salad, and the recipe below for pão de mel.

IMG_20130526_113512

Pão de mel is Portuguese for “Honey Bread.” It’s kinda like Brazilian gingerbread. But better cuz it’s dipped in chocolate. And I was super excited to find a vegan version cuz it’s tasty and super popular with brunchy crowds.  I found the recipe on Foodologie.com, and made very few changes. It’s a great recipe!

Pão de Mel (makes 12 muffins)

2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 tbsp baking soda
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup almond or soy milk
2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Mix together all of the dry ingredients,then add all the wet ingredients and mix well.

Pour the batter into cupcake/muffin tins lined with paper liners. Fill them 1/2 way up (add more if you have left over batter, but try not to go above 3/4 full). Put them in the oven for 30ish minutes. Check to see if they’re done by sticking a sharp knife or tooth pick in the center of one, then pull it out to see if it’s clean.

While they’re cooling, put the chocolate chips in a glass or metal bowl and place it on top of a saucepan of boiling water. Stir the chips until they’re melted, then dip the tops of each muffin in the chocolate and put aside to let the chocolate harden.

Muito bom!

20130526_091526

2 Responses to “Pão de Mel (Remember me?)”

  1. Karla @ Foodologie May 30, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    Yummm!

  2. Marti Mïllër Häll September 10, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    I really have no comment, I’m just mesmerized by these things and how easy they sound. ((drool))

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers

