HELLA VEGAN

22 Sep

For my penultimate Vegan MoFo post, I wanted to tell you all about this amazing vegan pop-up here in San Francisco run by these two rad queers. And it’s called Hella Vegan Eats.

20130915_201255

Every time they pop-up near by me, I go. The food is so exciting and delicious and, clearly, vegan. What’s more, they finally got their food truck up and running, so are now serving food regularly in Dolores Park (which is only relevant if you live in the Bay Area).

I went to the Hella Vegan “Endless Summer” pop-up at Dear Mom, a great bar just a short bike ride from my place in the Mission. In addition to the fabulous food, I got to hang out with some of my favorite people. ¬†And they gave us crayons and coloring sheets.

20130915_202053

One of my besties, Xiney, with my tiny three-legged chihuahua, Trike.

20130915_201654

Coloring sheets!

Me and my boo split the Godzilla Fries (one of my favorite dishes they serve) and the Korean Fried Chicken Sandwich. The Godzilla fries would have been more than enough for us both (HUGE portion) and were fucking perfect. Awesomely (baked? fried?) potato wedges, covered in pickled ginger and carrots and wakame and ginger sesame “pork” and some delicious mystery sauce. The stuff dreams are made of, really.

Image

The soba salad, “Indian Summer” tacos and (in the background) Godzilla fries. Please note that I had to photograph my friends’ meal cuz we ate ours too fast and forgot to take photos.

The “chicken” in the sandwich was good, but the sandwich as a whole was a little disappointing. The bread was really dense and dry, and there wasn’t anything else on the sandwich but the chicken. We ended up leaving most of the bread, as you can see here.

20130915_201647

But this is the first disappointment I’ve had with Hella Vegan Eats, so don’t be discouraged. The food is amazing, and SO CREATIVE. Check out this menu!

20130915_201742

If you’re in the Bay Area, I highly recommend checking them out. They update their facebook page often with their locations and menus.

One Response to “HELLA VEGAN”

  1. luminousvegans September 26, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    Holy crap, what is this magical vegan pop up?? Apparently, I’m in the wrong part of the country. I doubt there is anything like that here in Atlanta. I would so be all over those Godzilla fries, they sound amazing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers

