Welcome to CHUBB Gourmet! And Cherry Cornmeal Scones.

21 Jun

I am fat, and I love to cook. But I’m fat, so society will say that OF COURSE I love to cook and eat. Well, fuck them.

I cook to center myself, to try something new, to feed my friends, and to nourish myself and my community. Eating and cooking have always been linked to celebration and creativity in my mind. My mom and brother always gave me jobs in the kitchen, and I have many memories of my mom creating amazing meals for big dinner parties.

I’ve created CHUBB Gourmet as a place to share the recipes I’ve tried. This will be a place I celebrate food and nourishing myself in a way that is healthy for me. This will NOT be a blog about dieting or weightloss. Although I may post recipes that are low in fat, carbs or calories, they will NOT be labeled as such. And I’ll probably post some recipes that are very high in fat, carbs and calories. But I will not tell you.

What I WILL tell you is what I know about the ingredients I use, why I choose to make what I make, and what awesome characteristics the ingredients have. This might mean I go on and on about how awesome the produce from my CSA box is. Or how freaking delicious steel cut oats are. Or that quinoa is super badass because it’s a complete protein. Or that I LOVE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES AND AM IN SEARCH OF THE PERFECT RECIPE.

And to begin, I will tell you all about the super delicious scones I made this afternoon. Despite the fact that it was probably like 1,000 degrees outside and my kitchen was already really really hot. I still decided it was a good idea to turn up my oven to 425 degrees and make some motherfucking Cherry Cornmeal Scones.

I used this recipe which appears to have been pirated from Arizmendi Bakery. And if you live in the Bay Area you know that Arizmendi is the most delicious bakery of them all. And they’re a co-op which makes them 10,000x more awesome. And one just opened up on 25th and Valencia which means it’s a miracle I don’t bike up there more often and eat their gourmet pizza and baked goods every day. Below is my verison of the recipe with some tweaks. Namely that I used fresh cherries from my CSA box. I will wax poetic about my CSA box in another entry. Or all of them. These scones are NOT as delicious as Arizmendi’s. But they’re cheaper. And you make them, which automatically makes them more badass.

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (I ended up adding about a half a cup more cuz the dough was so wet)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 cup of sugar

1 1/2 cups medium-grind yellow cornmeal (this gives the scone a super cool texture)

1 cup cold unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes (it was so hot in my kitchen that the butter started melting almost immediately. Don’t let this happen to you. )

1 1/2 cups of fresh chopped cherries (pitted, of course. Which can get a little gory if you don’t have a cherry pitter..Who DOES have a cherry pitter anyways? Weird.)

3/4 cup soy milk (the fresh cherries add a lot of moisture..so add a little milk at a time and don’t let the dough get too wet)

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 425°. Do this naked if you’re dumb like me and decide to bake on a really hot day in an apartment without air conditioning and very little cross breeze. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Two if you have another one. But I’m broke and only have one.

Mix together the flour, baking soda and baking powder into a large bowl. Add salt, sugar, and the cornmeal. Stir until combined. Add the butter and cut in with a pastry cutter until it looks like “sandy pearls” (best cooking term EVER). A pastry cutter will save you a lot of time and effort..but if you don’t have one, use a fork. Using a wooden spoon, mix in the cherries. Add the soy milk. Mix everything until it’s all combined, and no longer. You want the butter to stay as un-melted as possible- that’s what gives scones their consistency. If the dough is super wet (as mine was), add some more flour until its manageable.

Lightly flour a cutting board and your hands. Split the dough into two halves. Roll one of the halves into a ball and then smoosh it flat onto the cutting board. Using a knife, cut the dough into wedges (this step always amazes my friends- “OH! THAT’S how you make scones into that shape!”). Line the wedges up on the baking sheet- if you alternate the way they point, you can fit more onto the sheet. Repeat with the second ball o’ dough.

Place the scones on the middle rack of the oven and immediately turn the temperature down to 375° (this step is completely random to me, but I followed it like a good baking sheep). Bake 20-25 minutes, or until the scones are golden. Mine were in for 25. Let them cool a little before you inhale them. Seriously, they taste better if they don’t burn your taste buds off on the way in.

Yields 15-20 scones

4 Responses to “Welcome to CHUBB Gourmet! And Cherry Cornmeal Scones.”

  1. boyreese November 30, 1999 at 12:00 am #

    hmmm…i was wondering what to do with these cherries from my spud box …( i work for an organic produce home delivery company here in the city called spud )….i think ill make these on friday night to serve to out of town friends this weekend…thanks!

    • morgasm June 21, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      Hooray! You may want to try using buttermilk instead of soy. I used soy cuz its impossible to find buttermilk in my ‘hood.

  2. Alyssa June 23, 2011 at 4:52 am #

    I think I’m in love.
    Definitely adding you to my blogroll.
    PS You’re the only person that’s ever reminded me that WW is a business. Fuck yeah they’re a business and they just want $… definitely made me ponder! Thanks for that!

    • Mo June 23, 2011 at 5:51 am #

      Thanks, Alyssa! Glad you like what I’ve done so far!

      And yes, WW is a business. I know SO MANY PEOPLE who “gained it all back” as soon as they stopped paying for WW’s services. Better to build your own systems then pay them for theirs.

Leave a Reply

