Sweet Potato Pancakes!

27 Jun

This weekend (as I’m sure most of you know) was Pride weekend here in San Francisco. Of course, us homos are gay all the time. But Pride weekend is when we’re EXTRA GAY. This additional output of gayness can be exhausting, so I am spending my day-after-Pride-weekend in bed updating CHUBB Gourmet with my new favorite brunch recipe: SWEET POTATO PANCAKES!

Friday of Pride Weekend is TransMarch day. It’s my favorite day of Pride because it’s a very community oriented, intentional day in the gorgeous Dolores Park. What better way to start my favorite day of Pride then by cooking brunch for two and a half of my favorite queers (who also happen to be my fabulous neighbors)? Max, Zohar and Micah all came over for a pre-TransMarch brunch and I was excited to cook Sweet Potato Pancakes for them- a recipe I had tried a few weeks earlier and couldn’t stop thinking about. Seriously, these pancakes are EPIC. I’m a little sad that Micah didn’t even try the pancakes, but I suppose I’ll forgive him since he’s only 5 months old and can’t eat solid food yet.

The recipe is from the Moosewood Restaurant “New Classics” book. The Moosewood books are great for vegetarian gourmets- I highly recommend ANY of their books. I followed this recipe pretty closely, save for their addition of 1/2 teaspoon of lemon peel in the batter. I also used soy milk instead of real milk.

Ingredients

1 cup peeled and grated raw sweet potato (Grating these fuckers is exhausting. If you only have a grater with big holes, don’t push too hard and it will produce smaller shreds. That all sounded filthy. But its not, you perverts)

1 large egg or two medium eggs (I’m still not sure who determines what is “large” and what is “medium”).

1 cup milk (Soy or cow. It doesn’t matter!)

2 tablespoons of oil or melted butter

1 cup flour (I use white flour. You could use whole wheat if you wanna be healthier. But what’s the point of healthy pancakes?)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of salt

2 tablespoons of sugar

Instructions

Start by mixing all the “wet ingredients” in a large bowl. This is the potatoes, egg, milk and oil or butter. In a separate medium bowl, mix the “dry ingredients,” aka the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Once the segregated ingredients have been mixed, drop the dry ingredients in with the wet and mix again. Moosewood says not to “beat or overstir.” Again, I’m not sure who determines what is “overstirred,” but apparently it’s ok for the batter to be a bit lumpy.

Warm a pan/skillet/griddle on medium-high heat. Lightly grease it with butter or oil. Pour a bit of batter on your cooking surface. I use a 1/3 cup measure as my pouring instrument- but you can experiment based on how big you want your pancakes.

The Moosewood Collective has many rules for making The Perfect Pancake. I did not know there were rules. All I knew, before reading this recipe, is that I’m really impatient and tend to flip pancakes like 1,000 times and smoosh them with my spatula to make them cook faster. As it turns out, one of the Rules of the Perfect Pancake is to ONLY FLIP THEM ONCE and NEVER SMOOSH THEM. Oops. The best way to tell if your pancake is ready for its ONE AND ONLY FLIP is when the pancake is bubbling and “about half of the bubbles have broken.” I’m too impatient to count broken bubbles, so I flip when I see a buncha bubbles. Here’s a photo for reference, although I’d wait to see the pancake more bubbly before flipping:

Cook the other side for a few minutes, or until it’s a nice golden brown. Pancakes are always best when served right off the griddle, but if you can’t do that, then keep them warm in an oven set to 200 degrees. Apparently it’s also a sin to stack pancakes before they’re served, so don’t do it or you’ll go to hell (or  just get soggy pancakes).

I also made a quick “hash” of green beans, red onion, summer squash and veggie sausage. Start by sauteing the chopped onion in some oil until it’s transluscent. Then throw in the veggie sausage (my favorite is GimmeLean brand, which looks disturbingly like real meat- so reassure your worried veggie friends its fake) and cook a few minutes more on medium heat, stirring often. Throw in the chopped summer squash and cook a few minutes more, still stirring to keep it from burning. Then add the green beans (ends snapped off) and cook a few minutes more or until the green beans are at your desired crunchiness level. Add some salt and pepper and VOILA! A delish and easy addition to your brunch.

And of course, ALL OF THE VEGGIES (sweet potatoes, onion, green beans, and squash) were from my kick ass CSA box.

Brunch was a success and I got to enjoy two of my favorite things: my friends, and FEEDING my friends! Here is a photo to show you the happy crew. Even Baby Micah who can’t eat solid food yet but is already really good at posing for the camera.

3 Responses to “Sweet Potato Pancakes!”

  1. kat November 29, 1999 at 4:30 pm #

    Oh my goodness, it all looks so yummy! I love sweet potatoes, but had no idea that they could be pancakes! Thanks for sharing! Have you tried cinnamon swirl pancakes? I did a post on it, please check it out and let me know what you think! I’m new to this blogging thing and I love checking out fellow foodie blogs 🙂
    http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/cinnamon-swirl-pancakes/

  2. Natalie June 28, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Alright, I am making these this weekend. NOMS.

  3. Alyssa June 29, 2011 at 4:40 am #

    YUM! I hate cooking with sweet potatoes just because they’re such a bitch to cut. BUT, these look like they’re worth it. PS Tomorrow I get my first ever CSA box! I am jazzed!

Leave a Reply

