Summer Veg Salad

2 Aug

Before we get into the recipe, I wanted you all to know that I’ll be selling cookies THIS SUNDAY from 12-6 at the “STUFF THE STREETS” art fair in the parking lot of 150 Valencia. All the info can be found on the facebook event page. Come give me $$, and I’ll give you cookies.

You all should be really proud of me! I managed to write down a recipe as I cooked it! Of course, I forgot to take photos.

But anyways, I needed something to bring to a picnic in Golden Gate Park with a bunch of nuns, so I looked in the fridge to see what needed to get used up. Of course, this time of year we get enough corn, tomatoes and cucumbers in our CSA box to sink a ship.

A search on all my favorite food blogs, and in my various cook books, turned up many recipes that used those ingredients, but none that would work for what I had in my pantry or that would be easily transportable to the park on my bike. The closest I found was this recipe over at 101 Cookbooks, so i decided to use it as inspiration and create my own salad with the three summer veggies I had so much of!

The only photo I took was of this super fat, very green worm that was hanging out inside the husk of this corn. He was adorable, and I left him in our compost to enjoy his final days in gluttonous excess before being processed at the city composting plant.

INGREDIENTS:

6-7 ears of fresh corn, shucked with the kernels cut off the cob (make sure to remove any worms).

1 regular cucumber, or 4 “snake” cucumbers (the variety we get in our CSA box) peeled and cut into bite size pieces

6-7 small tomatoes (or 2 regular sized tomatoes) de-jellied and then chopped

1/4 cup of olive oil

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Salt and pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

After you’ve prepped and chopped all the veggies, toss them together in a bowl. I de-jelly the tomatoes so they don’t add too much moisture to the salad. In a cup or bowl, whisk together the oil and vinegar and salt and pepper, and then toss it into the salad. This is the kind of salad that does better when it has time to hang out with the dressing, so don’t be afraid of dressing it at home and then transporting it to a picnic.

The corn was SUPER SWEET, and the sweetness was only accentuated by the balsamic vinegar. It was an amazingly refreshing and satisfying salad that was well received by all the Sisters. Make sure to try it out before the summer’s over!

3 Responses to “Summer Veg Salad”

  1. frugalfeeding August 2, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Do I include or exclude your little friend?

    • Mo August 2, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      You should remove him, as noted in the ingredients list. However now that you mention in, the inclusion of him and any of his friends could add a bit of protein to this recipe.

      Also, I can’t tell you how excited I am about the excellent looking recipes on your blog, and that you’re Welsh. I’m half Welsh and all of my family on my mother’s side is still over there. If I ever make it back, I’ll be sure to look you up so we can do an American-Welsh guest foodie blog exchange.

      Thanks for visiting!

  2. Alyssa August 16, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    yummy, yummy. I love veggies.

Leave a Reply

