Raspberry Apple Pie(rates)

29 Aug

I know, I know. It’s been forever since I last posted. But my excuse is valid: I was on a 2.5 week vacation on the Pacific North West. Without a computer. And I ate some seriously yummy food: Voodoo Doughnuts (the apple fritter stuffed with marionberry jam was my fave) and Produce Row (where I had some KICK ASS pozole) in Portland, and Ristorante Picolino’s (sweet potato gnocchi!) in Seattle.

Not to mention the fact that I cooked two pretty awesome dishes while on vacation. And I’m going to be sharing BOTH with you. Today, it’s RASPBERRY APPLE PIES!


My younger nephew turned 8 on the 19th of August. My sister-in-law called me a few days before I took the train up to Seattle and said “Dylan wants pies for his birthday. Can you make them?” and of course I said yes! It was then that my sister-in-law decided to deliver the most groan inducing joke ever: “Hey! Pies for his pirate themed birthday party! PIERATES.” I’ll never forgive her.


But the pies turned out deliciously! Whole wheat pastry flour crust from “Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone” by Deborah Madison, and a sweet/tart filling from PickyCook.com (with a LOT of changes, so follow my recipe, not theirs). One of my nephew’s friends told me it was the “BEST PIE SHE EVER ATE” which I think is pretty good testimony.

FILLING INGREDIENTS:

4-5 apples (traditionally, apple pies are made with Granny Smiths or other “tart” apples. I made these pies with Gala apples because they were the only type available organic- which is important with apples cuz their skin is so thin. I think the Gala apples made this pie even better).

1 pint of raspberries

Zest of one lemon

Zest of one orange

Juice of a half a lemon

Juice of a half an orange

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon cardamom

1 teaspoon vanilla

FILLING INSTRUCTIONS:

Core the apples and cut them into bite sized chunks. Put the apples, raspberries, zest, and juice together in a bowl and mix together. Mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, then add to the wet ingredients and mix together. Set aside and make your CRUST!

CRUST INGREDIENTS (If you want to make a cool topping for your pie, double this):

1.5 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 pound (1 stick) cold butter

3-5 tablespoons ice water (as needed)

CRUST INSTRUCTIONS:

Set the oven to 400 degrees. The key to good pie crust is to fuck with it as little as possible. If you are really touchy feely with your dough, it’ll be tough and miserable once baked.  Mix the salt and pastry flour together in a bowl, and then cut in the cold butter with a pastry cutter. Add a little bit of water at a time and mix with a wooden spoon (or your hands) until it *just* comes together. Don’t over-water your dough or you’ll end up fucking it all up. And don’t over-mix, either.

Roll the dough out with a lightly floured rolling pin onto a lightly floured surface. Once it’s big enough to fit into your lightly greased 9-inch pie tin, carefully pick it up and center it into the tin. Tuck it into the tin, and then remove the spare crust hanging over. You can pinch the edge of the crust with your thumb and forefinger to give it that fancy home-cooked look.

Pour the pie filling into your pie crust! If you wanna do a top to your pie, roll the extra dough out. You can either use a knife or cookie cutters to cut it into fun shapes (like I did with the pirate themed pies), or cut a bunch of strips and do a lattice pie. Or you can put the rolled out dough un-altered onto the top of the pie and cut wholes in the top to let the steam out.

Put the pie into the oven ontop of a cookie sheet to catch an spill over. Bake for 25-30 minutes until the crust is golden.


Leave a Reply

