Garbannnnnzoooosss!!!!

12 Mar

So guess what!? I got a JOB!

This is awesome because I was going batshit crazy at home (I was approaching one year unemployed), but not so great because it gives me less time to update CHUBB Gourmet.

But I’m still broke (non-profit and government jobs do not pay well), so I will be forced to cook myself lunch and dinner as often as humanly possible. Which is good for you all, my dear readers. Assuming I have the time to tell you what I’ve been making.

Anyways, I have a bunch of bulk chickpeas (aka garbanzos), and decided to cruise my fave cooking blogs for inspiration. Chickpeas are great because they (like most beans) are a protein source. I also love the way they taste and feel.

The ever fabulous Smitten Kitchen had a great recipe for “Espinacas con garbanzos” that only required me to buy two additional ingredients from what was already in my pantry. The bakery up the street from my place houses Sour Flour, and they sell day old loafs for $2. That and my 89 cent can of tomato sauce was all I needed to make what is now one of my new favorite dishes. Added bonus? SUPER fast to make, and makes enough for leftovers for DAYS. Plus, it was a great way to get rid of all the spinach from my CSA box.

Image

If you’re going to make this with dried chickpeas, make sure to soak them overnight. It makes them cook INFINITELY faster than if you don’t. With that, the recipe tweaked from Smitten Kitchen follows!

1/2 pound dried chickpeas, cooked until soft (make sure they maintain their structural integrity, though- So don’t overcook) or two 15-ounce cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
6 tablespoon olive oil
1 pound spinach, washed
A thick slice from a nice loaf or about 2 slices from sandwich loaf, torn into small cubes

1/2 cup canned tomato sauce
6 garlic cloves, chopped
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Teaspoon of red pepper flakes
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
Smoked paprika, to taste
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat three tablespoons of the olive oil, and a pinch of salt, in a large saucepan. When it’s hot, add the rinsed spinach leaves and cook until they’re wilted. Remove from heat.

Add two tablespoons of olive oil to a large skillet. Fry the bread chunks until golden, then add the remaining tablespoon of oil and the garlic, cumin and pepper. Cook for 1 minute more or until the garlic is nutty brown (don’t burn the garlic, though!)

Put the breadcrumb mixture in a food processor with the vinegar, and pulse until it’s a nice paste. Return the paste to the pan and add the drained chickpeas and tomato sauce. Stir until the chickpeas are coated and hot. Season with salt and pepper. Add the spinach and cook until it is hot. Serve the dish on top of a nice thick slice of bread, and sprinkle it with the paprika.

2 Responses to “Garbannnnnzoooosss!!!!”

  1. m March 16, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    Congrats on the job!

    Do you know about the quick-soak method for beans? Instead of soaking them overnight, put them in a pot with water, bring to a boil, boil for about a minute or two, and then put the lid on the pot and turn off the heat. Let them sit for an hour or so. This is basically equivalent to letting them soak overnight.

    (It occurs to me when writing this out that it’s a bit odd since one could just cook the beans for an additional hour or so instead of letting them sit for an hour in the boiled water beforehand. But this method still saves energy and reduces the time you’ll need to watch the pot. And I think they come out better this way than just cooking them forever. It also seems to help prevent the bean skins from coming off the way they sometimes do when you soak them overnight.)

    • Mo March 17, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      Yeah, I know about that method- But in my experience soaking over night is less of a hassle and easy enough if you remember. But there’s definitely been cases where I’ve been “SHIT! I FORGOT TO SOAK THE BEAANNNSSS” and have had to do the boiling method.

Leave a Reply

